Select Page

About us

The History of IGC
Ibadan Golf Club was formally inaugurated as an independent private membership club on  the 1st of May 1990 at the inception of the “May Day Competition” by the course management committee.

The Ibadan Golf Club was previously the Golf Section of Ibadan Recreation Club until the eminent LOCK-OUT of all golfers who arrived earlier for a routine practice before a golf tournament by the Ibadan Recreation Club Main Committee.
As a result of the LOCK-OUT, On the 14th of February 1990,In a meeting attended by  Dapo Falase, Roy Carrington, Felix Ogunyemi, Banji Emiola, Ben Faji, Doyin Adetuyibi (of blessed memory), Kola Agoro, Yisa Obaino, Charles Odekunle, Fola Adebusuyi, Peter Young and Folabi Alabi, a decision to establish a new independent golf club was reached.

On 27th of April 1990, The Headquarters’ 2nd Mechanized Division took-over the entire 18-holes golf course, and then established the course management committee”, made up of three armed forces personnel (Gp. Capt AS Alabi, Lt-CoL T. Abdu and Wing Comdr. J. D. Wuyep) to manage the course.

Ibadan Golf Club forwarded an application to 2 Mechanized Division for its approval to use the portion of the golf course which Ibadan Recreation Club suggested belonged to the Nigerian Army.
As a result, in a letter from the GOC, dated 13th September 1990,Ibadan Golf Club was granted approval for the “Exclusive Operation and Management” of what were then holes 10-17 of the golf course. This concession was amended in another letter dated 17th September 1990, using the adjoining main road, as the natural line of demarcation between the Ibadan Recreation Club and the Ibadan Golf Club (holes 10-16) sectors of the golf course.

The first competition on the new course was held on 1st October 1990-Independence Anniversary while the 1st AGM of the club, which held on 8th March 1991 where the confirmation of appointments took place.  The Honorary Patron would automatically be the GOC. 2 Mech. Division Nigerian Army, Appointed Trustees were  Chief O. Kuye, Chief M. Zard and Mr. A. Panchalingam while Hon. Members were  Air Commore S. A Alabi (Rtd) and Chief O. Adegoke.

As of 8th March 1991 Ibadan Golf Club had a total of 78 members including Associates (registered as fully paid-up).

The Expansion of the Golf Course and Golf Members continued, today Ibadan Golf Club have a complete 18 hole green Course and over a Thousand prominent members while  hosting an average of 7 major competitions yearly.